The Nissan Club banner

2006 Altima Front Wheel Bearing Replacement Procedure.

53K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  Perloso 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello Nissan folks,

I am going to post a thread about how to replace 06 Altima 2.5S front wheel bearing on the driver side.

I am a novice but with lots of internet research and effort, I finally made it without a mistake.

*Due to the picture upload restriction, 5 images per thread. I am sorry that I was only able to upload five images here. In addition, when I was on the FAQ page of 2002-2006 Altima to post this thread, I found that I was not allowed to post any new thread on the FAQ section. I think this is because of some kind of restriction on a new member.

By doing this job, you can also replace brake pads, disk rotor, outer and inner tie rods, wheel hub, wheel bearing, steering knuckle, transverse link(low control arm) including low ball joint, shock absorber(strut) and even drive shaft(cv axle) as well.

***Warning !!!

***Please be advised that I can not be responsible for any damage done to you or your vehicle during your work. Work at your own risk!

***First of all, as we all know, your safety is your top priority. Always doublecheck your jack and jack stand to prevent your vehicle from falling.

1. As you all know, jack the vehicle and brace the vehicle with a jack stand to support it more safely.

2. Loosen five 21 mm wheel nuts and remove the tire.

3. Put the tire underneath the vehicle to brace the vehicle.

4. Now loosen two 14 mm bolts holding the caliper and remove the brake pads and caliper from the torque member where the caliper sits on.

**Note : I want to suppose that you know all the procedure above. sorry for no pictures for the procedure. Removing the caliper and brake pads is not a difficut job. But be very careful with the brake line.