The Nissan Club banner

Anyone have a 300hp NA build?

91K views 641 replies 27 participants last post by  M-train 
#1 · (Edited)
My 2005, SE-R build.......

I just bought an 03 SE-R with a blown engine.

For a little background, I have been building hot rods , and performance engines for over 35 years now, not to mention paint/body, and lots of fab work.

Here is my little 90 Mazda B2200 that I twin turbo charged along with a Ford/Dart 363 engine.

So I while the engine is out I would like to up the HP just a bit to an honest 300fwhp.

I would agree that a turbo would be the best way to go with this, but I really don't want to take it that far as my wife will mostly be driving it.

I was thinking headers, port the heads, bigger throttle body [size???] maybe mill the heads for a little more CR.
So do any of you have an engine making around this much HP, and what did you do to the engine?

See less See more
#2 ·
After doing some reading on the 350z forums, looks like its not going to happen.

Of course the majority of the posts I read there were about bolt ons, and not really getting into the engines [I find this strange after comming from building Mustangs, and such as its not a big deal to build engines, not even the 32valve DOHC engines.]

So, I will probably rebuild the engine with some Weisco 9.5cr forged pistons, and just fab up a turbo setup. [Like I did on my 02 Tacoma 4 banger].

Anything known with these engines that need to be addressed, [other than the pre cat issues].

#6 ·
Gotta get it home.

The car was waaaay out in the boondocks so by the time we saw it, made a deal it was just too late to go home, and get the trailer.

We gave them money down, and got a receipt. I looked, and they did take their ad off Craigslist.

Why didn't I take my trailer when going to look? Well, I figure that always puts the seller a leg up on you when you negotiate price. Also, if the car is a turd, then you wasted gas pulling a trailer both ways.