Spark Plug Socket Size - Nissan Forums : Nissan Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2009, 01:36 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Spark Plug Socket Size

Alright well I'll start off by stating I'm a complete newb when it comes to car maintenance, with that said heres my question. I recently decided to change my spark plugs, bought all the necessary tools, socket wrench, socket extension, spark plugs etc... Here is my problem I own a 97 Nissan Altima special edition, now I can't seem to figure out what is the correct socket to use in order to remove the spark plugs. I bought a set of sockets that were specifically labeled "Spark Plug Sockets", only one of the sockets would even fit down into the plug hole and it wasn't the right size. That socket was a 5/8". I've tried about 4 different sizes, 14mm, 15mm, etc... So if anyone has information about which socket size corresponds to the spark plugs in my car please respond. Something else i noticed when trying to remove my plugs was that when I removed the boots that snap onto the plugs, the hole was filled with oil and the boots were soaked in it, is this normal?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-02-2009, 01:48 AM

your using the wrong sockets, in your kit there is a 5/8 socket that looks different from allthe others and is usally located in a separate place within your kit. it is a deep socket that has a 6 sided nut shaped head on the rachet connector end. inside the socket there is a piece of rubber that is afixed at the back, without this the only thing you will do is loosen the spark plug. that rubber piece holds onto the end of the spark plug so that it can be pulled out.

Yes,..its mine.....
Old 02-02-2009, 10:07 AM

I don't have a kit, just the three sockets that came with the set I purchased labeled "Spark Plug Sockets" and none of them fit. Only one out of the three was narrow enough to even fit down the hole to reach the plug and it wasn't the right size.