3.5 Infamous Engine Rattle Fixed - Nissan Forums : Nissan Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old 10-05-2012, 02:29 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
3.5 Infamous Engine Rattle Fixed

I went thru hell and back but just wanted to let everyone know that the rattle noise I have been tracking down for two years now has been whittled down to the timing chain guides. If you are facing the engine from the passenger side, it will be the rail on the left that breaks at the top and slides down towards the bottom. This causes the tensioner to push all the way out and (its a $90.00 part by the way...$50.00 online) the chain will clank around until it builds enough oil and pressure to silence it (how that works, I don't see it). Anyway, it's a 10 hour job to tear everything out and get that cover off. Here are the links from YouTube I found to help me fix it. I put in new guide rails, tensioner, and a waterpump, along with seals and belts since I don't want to be in there again!!! This guy is also pretty funny as he goes through it and gives you his mechanic tips! Best of luck!!!

Part 1:

Part 2:

Steve

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 10-05-2012, 12:59 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Garage
Wow those are great video's! Thanks for sharing!

SER - Stock Except Rims

NWP BOP | NWP 3pc. Spacers | eBay CAI w/K&N | Custom 3" Magnaflow Cat-Back | Racingline Front STB | Custom Rear Brace | KYB GR-2 w/Tein H.Tech | Z32 4-Piston Iron Calipers w/12.6" PowerSlot D/S Rotors | 350z Calipers w/Brakemotive D/S Rotors | Redline Tuning QuickLIFT | Grounding Kit | eBay Grill | Plasti Dip Front Valance, Roof, Wheels, Shifter Bezel | 6K HID's (D2R)

Stereo: In-Dash Tablet | Alpine SPS-610c | Polk 4-Channel Amp | Pioneer 4-way 6x9 | 2x Pioneer 10" Subs w/Pioneer 2-Ch. Amp | Samsung HS3000 BT
post #3 of 26 Old 10-05-2012, 04:51 PM
SUPER-BLACK