Replacing rear engine mount - Nissan Forums : Nissan Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 03-07-2006, 08:36 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Replacing rear engine mount

I've had my '98 Altima since '99 and it's a great car. It's got 165K and so far, it's been running great. I'm fairly new to working on cars, and have done just a few simple maintenance jobs myself. I replaced the front engine mount and that got rid of this creaking noise when I would accelerate and brake for about a week. The creaking noise is now back! But I'm at a loss as to how to get to the rear engine mount. Does anyone know how to do this? Would it be better for me to have a mechanic do it?

Thanks. This forum is a great find.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-07-2006, 10:16 PM

You have to take off the crossmember. I did this when I put in my motor mount inserts. Jack up the car and then put it on jackstands. Then, put the jack under the engine/tranny and jack it up slightly to relieve pressure. To remove the bolt going thru the motor mount, either reach thru your engine or from under the car and remove it. Then, take off the crossmember. There are two big bolts on the front of the crossmember and three ones in the back. I don't remember what the fronts were but they are either 14 or 17 mm and the backs were 17 mm deep sockets. Once you have it off, you can remove the mount from it. Reinstall everything in reverse order.

-'99 5-speed Altima
Performance Mods: Hotshot CAI; Stillen 4-1 Header; OBX Catback Exhaust - Hiroshima Style; Vibrant Front Strut Tower Bar; S.T. Rear Anti-Sway Bar; Taz's Motor Mount Inserts
Audio Mods: Pioneer Head Unit; 4x60 watt Infinity 6200i 2-ways; Infinity Kappa Perfect 12.1 sub w/ Kenwood Amp

-1990 300ZX 2+2
Mods: Intake, headers, lightweight flywheel, RPS sport clutch, lightweight drive shaft, ECU, JWT S1 Cams, anti-sway bars, short shifter...203 rwHP
#3 Old 03-08-2006, 12:35 AM

Quote: