Error Code P0340 1995 Altima - Nissan Forums : Nissan Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 06-26-2007, 01:55 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Talking Error Code P0340 1995 Altima

Bottom line -- Intermittent no Ignition Spark because Oil in distributor, sometimes no engine error light, or Error Code P0340 --- fix replace distributor --- good place to buy -- edit added 12-17-2007 read on for a lot of detail.

Answers following, a possible fix for the P0340 error code, oil in distributor problem, maybe a suggestion on where to buy a distributor which all leads to back ground about my problem and my question.
I have been working on the problem for awhile with some success and setbacks, I am not an expert but I hope sharing what I found may help others and you may have a suggestion for me. Problem started when the engine stopped running as I was driving and then failed to restart, it did start a couple of times later and ran a short distance as in a couple of miles then nothing and finally I determined there was no spark or maybe a random occurring spark at times. Occasionally it would fire a shot or two and sounded as if the ignition was way off in its timing, popping back through the air intake. Problem isolated to oil in the distributor. Here is how I verified it --- Remove distributor cap, then remove screw holding rotor on to the shaft. Then remove the protective shield where the points would be in a conventional ignition. You’re now accessing the elusive Camshaft Position Sensor area (P0340). That shield has a fancy O ring seal that holds the leaking oil in and that oil may have already begin to leak out when you loosen the distributor cap screws as the tension on distributor cap holds the second seal down. Bottom Line clean up around the distributor a little before you begin and take note so you can see any new oil that appears during the disassembly. Back to the inside parts there is a disk with 360 sma