Are 1999 Altima suspension parts interchangeable with the 2000 Altima GXE? - Nissan Forums : Nissan Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 03-24-2012, 02:26 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Are 1999 Altima suspension parts interchangeable with the 2000 Altima GXE?

If you don't feel like reading the backstory skip to the last two paragraphs of this post for what I actually need.

I have a 2000 Nissan Altima GXE with a manual transmission. I just bought the Altima in July 2011 and it has 201xxx miles. It has treated me well so far. Anyways, I crashed into a curb on my way home from the gym the other night going about 20-25mph. There was about 2 inches of snow on the ground and my brakes suddenly went out, or I hit a patch of black ice, I'm still not sure. I'm an above average driver in bad weather conditions (I've actually even trained a few friends on how to stop by pumping, maintaining control of the car by countersteering, and many other techniques). I tried pumping, fully pressing them, everything, and when that didn't work I tried strategically accelerating to get out of the slide. Nothing worked, so when I realized a crash was inevitable I made the decision to hit the curb sideways, otherwise I would jump the curb and hit the tree right in front of it, or I would hit one of the parked cars. Luckily I was in my own neighborhood so when I hit I was able to get it parked with my brother's help and walk home.

This was my first crash/scrape/anything that would damage a car ever, and I been driving 8 years total. 6 of those years I've driven almost every single day. Well at least I can say I've still never been pulled over haha.

Anyways, when I hit the curb the front drivers side wheel hit and bent the control arm very badly, sway bar end link broke, and I don't know if the drive axle or front strut are bad yet until I take it apart.