High fuel consumption - Nissan Forums : Nissan Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 11-01-2012, 01:45 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
High fuel consumption

Hi to all,just a newbie here. have a question bout my car.its a 95 altima gxe with 208,000 km. it was given to us a gift.the car is immaculately clean. goes and runs smooth. but i recently measured my fuel consumption by putting fuel till the pump goes auto stop then reset my trip odometer to zero. then when i used all the fuel and the reserved light went on i immediately filled it up again to full till auto stop and saw my trip odometer that i have driven it for only 320 kms and filled it up again with 50 liters of fuel. if i did it right then my consupmtion is 1 liter to only 6kms! thats quite high. the car is running smooth,also has power,idling is perfect,seems nothing wrong with it.any insights about this brothers? thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 11-01-2012, 07:14 PM
... don't get caught

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
my '97 is the same generation. The tanks have an air pocket in the top that I estimate @ 7 - 9 liters.
Your problem may be due to uneven fill levels, due to this air pocket.

After pump clicks off you can rock the car and you'll hear air bubbles burping out.
with care I can add ~ 4 liters after pump clicks off, and
even more if car is tilted to side at an uneven station.

1997 Altima, 5-speed;
144,000 miles.

Last edited by UhOh; 11-01-2012 at 07:22 PM.
#3 Old 11-01-2012, 07:29 PM

(Thread Starter)