Need Router Suggestion - Page 3 - Nissan Forums : Nissan Forum
 
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center


NissanClub.com is the premier Nissan Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2012, 03:40 AM
702L32's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Born on Oahu, Living in Las Vegas
Posts: 4,403
Thanks: 17
Thanked 57 Times in 53 Posts
iTrader: 5 reviews
yeah i only have UP to 3mb im still not sure if i have the cox power boost or not
__________________
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2012, 12:56 PM
200hpAltima's Avatar
Ctrl-F Yourself
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,252
Thanks: 41
Thanked 23 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: 0 reviews
Ouch! I did a speed test last night. Got 15 down and .9 up...hmmm
__________________
E-Racings Front|Tint|Tsudo Catback|Verde 18's|Woodgrain Dash Kit|Tinted Tails|Vinyl Behind Mirrors| Too Much to List!
DIY LED Tursignals In Mirrors|DIY Projector Retrofit|What You Need to Convert to OEM HID|Nissan Factory Service Manual Here|How To Check/Clear SES Codes HERE|Upgrading The Stock Halogen Headlights|Detailed Description of HID and Angel Eyes

BEST IN CLASS AT 2009 CANAL DAYS CAR SHOW!


Quote:
Originally Posted by KeVQ35 View Post
Your car is like the ugly chick that all the guys look at in disbelief, but she tells all her girlfriends that guys are constantly checking her out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2012, 01:06 PM
nismo9132's Avatar
'09 2.5S Dark Slate Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nismo
Posts: 1,577
Thanks: 3
Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
Garage
iTrader: 0 reviews
I had bought a Belkin N150 wireless router... set it all up with custom passwords for the admin account and to connect. Tried logging in about 5 minutes later with the admin password and it wouldn't accept the password. Reset it using a paper clip and went through and set the router up again. Did the same thing about 5 minutes after the second set up, except this time it locked me out completely - it wouldn't reset or let me log in. Returned it and bought a Netgear. Haven't had any issues - I've had a Netgear N300 (one of the original that was released) for a while now and I haven't had any problems.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 04:08 PM
A d m i n
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 225
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: 0 reviews
OK so TWC (time warner) is telling me I must purchase one of the following:
. . . . is this true? . . .

Turbo, Extreme and Ultimate Service Plans

Vendor Model
Motorola SBG6580
Motorola SB6141
Netgear CMD31T
Motorola SB6121
Zoom 5341J


Lite, Basic and Standard Service Plans

Vendor Model
Motorola SBG6580
Motorola SB6141
Motorola SB5101
Motorola SB5101U
Motorola SBG901
Netgear CMD31T
Motorola SB6121
Zoom 5341J


Anyone know if I can purchase one not on their list - after I purchase they say I have to call them with the modem ID number (MAC) so it will work.
__________________
2003 Nissan Altima 2.5S SB
2002 Honda Odyssey EXL GG
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 11:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,532
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader: 0 reviews
some motorola cable modems only support a max download speed like mine only supports up to 30mbps, so I would have to go with one similar to your turbo/extreme list.

Only time they need your modem ID is if there's something wrong with the line. The cable guy had to call in with my modem ID since it was working initially when I had signed up and within a week, it wouldn't connect. Turned out the rg6 cable just needed to be replaced
__________________


2009 2.5s with Takeda sri, Stillen front strut brace, 6k HIDs, black matrix depo tails, glossy black roof vinyl, LED drls., Plastidipped oem bumper, BrakeMotive package
----
future mods: lowering springs, Racingline or Stillen rear sway bar, 4 channel amp, catback exhaust, 2JR pulley swap
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 11:24 PM
200hpAltima's Avatar
Ctrl-F Yourself
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,252
Thanks: 41
Thanked 23 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: 0 reviews
Habs,

What TWC wants you to do is buy their all in one modem/router. If you can get another cable modem ONLY then you can run any router you please
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 11:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,532
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 200hpAltima View Post
Habs,

What TWC wants you to do is buy their all in one modem/router. If you can get another cable modem ONLY then you can run any router you please
+1 to this...they just want more money from you. AT&T uses those crappy 2Wire dsl modem/gateways. Even with a firmware flash, those POS dsl modem/gateways would still lose connection or their wifi area would only be about 5 feet!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 11-21-2012, 12:46 AM
xeene's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: walled lake, mi
Posts: 3,317
Thanks: 5
Thanked 27 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Habs11 View Post
Anyone know if I can purchase one not on their list - after I purchase they say I have to call them with the modem ID number (MAC) so it will work.
you can. two things to consider first, what speed service you're subscribing and what speed modem caps at. you don't want to subscribe to 100mbit service and have a modem with 38mbit cap.
__________________
2007 infiniti fx35, 2008 mercury mariner hybrid
nissan factory shop manuals
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 11-21-2012, 12:50 PM
A d m i n
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 225
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 200hpAltima View Post
Habs,

What TWC wants you to do is buy their all in one modem/router. If you can get another cable modem ONLY then you can run any router you please
When I started this thread I was in the market for a new wireless router. Now that TWC is going to charge a lease fee for their modem I figured I would buy a new wireless router/modem combo.

Xeene - yea I woiuld get something that far exceeds what I currently in case speeds get faster on their own (ha ha) or I decide to upgrade to a faster package. Currently I have a basic/standard road runner package from TWC and it suits me fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 11-21-2012, 02:14 PM
200hpAltima's Avatar
Ctrl-F Yourself
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,252
Thanks: 41
Thanked 23 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: 0 reviews
That works. For some odd reason, I am a huge fan of keeping the router and modem separate. But there is no reason for that madness. Just OCD I guess lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2012, 06:05 PM
fishbone's Avatar
LOL AWD
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,337
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by xeene View Post
too many? do they know that single router can support 255 devices?
In theory. But the reality is that home-grade hardware will rarely not choke long before you get to that many IP addresses. It also largely depends on model, brand etc but if you are in the game of setting up a network and you know you're going to get close to a crapload of devices, better stick with enterprise-grade hardware.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALTIMA2.5SL View Post
lol, I love it when my internet isn't working so I call and the first thing they always ask is for me to power down the modem and all that BS and I am already tried all of that crap. You think I would just call you people for the fun of it?
You should work in a call center environment sometimes. It's not easy for the person on the other end, trust me. They have a script and they have to go through it. If they do not, they get nicked for it come review time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 200hpAltima View Post
That works. For some odd reason, I am a huge fan of keeping the router and modem separate. But there is no reason for that madness. Just OCD I guess lol
Because it sucks replacing a perfectly good router just because the modem chipset crapped out?
Had this happen to me more than once.
__________________
My snail eats rice

synthetic oil drained every 500 miles cause I'm rich | uranium-core sparkplugs | McRae sticker 10hp edition | titanium piston springs | Motul syn blinker fluid | timing advanced 6* Celsius | SE-R tail lights | trunk mount intercooler | oil catchcan with exhaust dumpvalve (see smoke in sigpic) | CLICK to see my turbo

Last edited by fishbone; 11-22-2012 at 06:08 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2012, 07:23 PM
200hpAltima's Avatar
Ctrl-F Yourself
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,252
Thanks: 41
Thanked 23 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: 0 reviews
^ That is more than true . Or I have my router shit the bed and my modem still work haha
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2012, 11:22 PM
A d m i n
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 225
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: 0 reviews
I am going to keep router and modem separate for now. A friend that works at TWC strongly suggested I use their modem due to updates they push out and the very likely event that I get one that works today and at some unknown point in the future will not work - unfortunately he indicated it happens a lot more than people would expect.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2012, 12:28 AM
200hpAltima's Avatar
Ctrl-F Yourself
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,252
Thanks: 41
Thanked 23 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: 0 reviews
^ I just went though this with TWC. They pushed a new firmware to my modem/router that came corrupted and bricked my modem/router for a day while they tried to sort it out. It's not sunshine and butterflies anywhere you go with this IMHO
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2012, 12:16 PM
A d m i n
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 225
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: 0 reviews
^ i never expect sunshine and butterflies - we live in CRAPCHESTER !! although during some very light snow yesterday the sun did come out - love sun and snow at the same time.

now when i get time i need to order a router online. . . . .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Nissan Forums : Nissan Forum > Nissanclub.com Entertainment Forums > OFF TOPIC !!!


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Nissan Forums : Nissan Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.