The Nissan Club banner

CVT FLUID LEVEL QUICK CHECK GAUGE NTB18-055b

13K views 15 replies 4 participants last post by  amc49 
#1 ·
Nissan has finally provided a way to check the CVT fluid level on the CVT8 - it's about time!!!!

Unfortunately - the calibrated dipstick for the check is $250 !!!!!!

We can get around that by marking the fluid level on the dipstick from the 4th gen Altima as per the procedure.

Enjoy.

https://static.nhtsa.gov/odi/tsbs/2019/MC-10158429-9999.pdf

#2 · (Edited)
This is great info and thanks for posting! It appears the dipstick tool in the picture can have it's length changed according to the red/blue cap. With the blue cap installed the stick length is shortened, at least according to what I'm seeing! You mentioned using the gen 4 dipstick and mark accordingly.
Here's what I've done with my 15 Altima 2.5. I bought the car used two months ago and saw there was no trans dipstick. I'm a retired tech and have a dipstick tool for Mercedes, which also has no dipstick. So I inserted the Mercedes tool in my Nissan and made note of the level with car at operating temp according to the coolant gauge. (I did not measure the fluid temp) I then purchased a dipstick for a 4th gen Altima part # 31086-JA00A. When comparing the Nissan stick with the Mercedes stick, the Nissan one was somewhat shorter by over an inch. The conversion between the mercedes and nissans sticks allowed me to make new marks on the nissan stick which resulted in the hot level being just above the lower notch and close to the checkered area just above it. I've done a drop and fill and installed a Hayden 696 trans cooler that has a thermal by-pass that allows the trans fluid to by-pass the cooler until it reaches 180 degrees and I installed it in series with the cooler in the radiator. I refilled according to the mark made on the Mercedes stick, which is confirmed with the marks I made on the gen 4 stick.