LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 02-13-2018, 01:14 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
2010 Altima SR Factory HID's

Hi all,

I recently was given a 2010 Nissan Altima SR V6 as a company vehicle. It has 111,000 miles on it. It rides nice and is fine to drive, especially since its free! I'll be driving 300-400 miles a week for my job so its nice to keep miles off my personal vehicle.

Anyways, the one gripe I have with this vehicle is the headlights. They are the factory HID reflector setup. And frankly they suck. Compared to my 2017 Colorado with factory halogen projectors, the Altima does not even compare. They only light up maybe 15-20' in front of the car and everything else is just scattered light with random hotspots. The halogen fog lights on this car almost are brighter than the headlights.

Now I have some experience with HID's and I know that after a certain amount of time/use HID bulbs can lose lumens. So I bought a set new Morimoto D2R bulbs off The RetroFit Source website and installed them. This only netted a slight increase in output. I also aimed/adjusted the lights as best I could but this still doesn't help much. I am at a loss. But I really would like to have decent headlights for early morning and nighttime driving, which I will be doing frequently.

My next attempt might be to replace the ballasts, but those can get pretty pricey, and I don't know if it would even help. So I figured I would stop in here and ask.

Apart from doing an entire retrofit on the headlights, what other options do I at making these lights better? Thanks

2010 Altima SR V6 -111,000 miles - Company Vehicle
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 02-13-2018, 03:06 PM
09 Altima 3.5SE 6MT Sedan

Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1153 Post(s)