The Nissan Club banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
c'old man winter
1,091 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
got a 95 altima with automatic, and 113,000 miles.
perfect (scarily it's really like brand new(now a believer in the reliability of nissan and the ka24de motor)). I'm a mechanic and I've kept the car in good shape and did the maintenance on it myself, etc. car is compeltely 'stock', with 0-mods - just a special audio system I installed and calibrated myself using SPL, and various tracks.

was thinking about getting a 95 maxima SE with 5 speed manual, has 160,000 miles. its in good condition. the bad things, after i inspected it(somewhat breefly- i wanted 30 more mins with it but the owner was busy that day) were two codes in ECU, 0707 0304, which are o2 sens and k.s. sensor. i think the 0707 is prb the real thing , and the knock sensor was just tripped off, since that has happened in the past with different probs on the altima (the knock sensor just likes to be a code whenever there is another problem HAHA who knows why). also, the car has been regularly filled with Regula gasoline with 87 oct and i believe it's supposedto be 91 or higher. so maybe there is gradual damage to car from knocking, and i dont know how much actualy life there is in engine. engine ran smooth, actually shocking smooth, kindof reminded me of a jet engine turbine acceleration... weird. driven many many many cars, but almost none are THAT smooth. the driver's side axle seemed lose in the spot where it connects to differential. I heard a slight whining sound on take off in 1st gear.

should i get max, and enjoy and over time modify for more perf. or keep altima and modify for more perf, since i hear max has less handling, and the ka24 in altima when turboed gets like the same hp as the maxima when it's supercharged...?????

thanks -
Pass

·
Altimaboy
1,726 Posts
Keep the alti. It is paid for. "Ride'em til' they die" is my motto!

·
1994 nissan altima
425 Posts