The Nissan Club banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy y'all,

I have a 2008 Nissan Altima, and I love it. Unfortunately I have the airbag light flashing nonstop every time I drive it. I also noticed that the passenger airbag off light is constantly on. Hmmm....this made me think "Ok, the occupancy sensor is malfunctioning. I will take it to a NISSAN CERTIFIED DEALER and they will set me straight.

So, after an 120 buck all around inspection (wtf is this standard for every place? I thought places would at least LOOK and see if they can find the problem for free. But I digress...) they notified me that indeed the occupancy sensor is bad, and they would have to replace the ENTIRE seat. This would take them 3 hours to do, plus all the parts would cost > $2,000. HOLY GUACAMOLE!

I am definitely not paying that much. I graduated with an Electrical Engineering Technology degree and I am very hands on. But, I haven't worked on cars much. Do you think I would be able to take on the task of fixing my car?

I am thinking that there's GOT TO be a way to just totally bypass this sensor. From my understanding, the sensor can distinguish if there is a person or something static (like a bag of groceries). If its not a person, the airbag will be disengaged. I think this seems like a dumb feature anyways. Can't there be a way that I can bypass this sensor so that it will always just think there is a person and the airbag will always deploy? Is it as simple as shorting out 2 pins somewhere?

Is there an easy way to access the sensor? Or is it buried in the seat and the only way to reach it is to gut my seat open? I'm hoping you Nissan nerds can help me out!!! I want to be able to save some money and learn something while I'm at it!

Thanks,

Popnfrsh

·
2010 2.5 SL
687 Posts
SNIP