The Nissan Club banner

CAI and CAT-Back? Newby Qs.

1K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  flarearrow 
"cat-back" means you replace the exhaust piping with typically larger diameter pipe from the catalytic converter to the end of the tailpipe. hence from the "cat back".

You probably won't gain much if anything from a cat-back exhaust on a QR25, but I'm no expert here. For performance parts for that engine, you'd probably be best off heading to a Sentra site such as www.b15sentra.net or something where this engine is the "performance option" instead of the "grocery getter standard engine" that it is here. The guys after performance here all seem to have the 3.5 engine. So you might have better luck at a Sentra site as far as learning performance parts go ;)

Re: More On Cat-Back...

SE-Rious said:
All too often you see the Hondah
boys outfitting their civics with 3 inch piping. Loud, You bet!
Better performance? Doubtful.
True. Overly large piping will result in lost backpressure and lots of low-end torque for only a minimal gain at the top-end.

BTW, it's Honduh ;)

OpalBlue - Yeah, definitely head over to the Sentra forums. The Spec-V guys have the same engine, and hopefully the engine bay layout is such that any mod developed for them would work for you also. If there are any performance company reps over on the Sentra forums, definitely get into contact with them and let them know that you're interested in getting the parts to work on the Altima too.

OpalBlue said:
If I can tweak maybe 25 more HP from it, it will compete well against everyone else's V6's. Now THAT (a V6 accord owner getting beat by an I4 Altima owner) would be embarassing.