The Nissan Club banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have a 2007 Nissan altima that I bought used on marketplace here on Facebook. Car runs and drives great, but not even a month later check engine light comes on. Took it to autozone to have them use their checker thing lol and the code came back po420? That's what I find on the paper. Says I need to replace catalytic converter. Over 800 dollars for the part alone. Please help

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Does it sound like a it got a rusted hole in it?
It does sometimes...it's not a very loud car, in fact it's pretty quiet unless I'm speeding up I guess lol. I'm not good with cars and I've literally only had it a month to the day. I've been in contact with the young guy I bought it from and showed him the paper that autozone printed for me. He's willing to help with some of the cost, but also said a friend of his said that I could have a straight pipe in it's place? I think that's what he said. I don't wanna go out and buy a 800+ dollar part before I have it looked at. I seen a question above that said take their vehicle to a muffler shop. I'm gonna do that asap.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
It does sometimes...it's not a very loud car, in fact it's pretty quiet unless I'm speeding up I guess lol. I'm not good with cars and I've literally only had it a month to the day. I've been in contact with the young guy I bought it from and showed him the paper that autozone printed for me. He's willing to help with some of the cost, but also said a friend of his said that I could have a straight pipe in it's place? I think that's what he said. I don't wanna go out and buy a 800+ dollar part before I have it looked at. I seen a question above that said take their vehicle to a muffler shop. I'm gonna do that asap.
All I know is all a sudden check engine light came on and took it to autozone and that's what printed out...catalytic converter

·