The Nissan Club banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie here and have a quick question (I hope).

I have a 94 GXE 5sp that I brought into Canada from Florida. Before I can register the car here I need to install a daytime running lights kit. The dealer wants $250. for it (installed) but I know you can get aftermarket modules for well under $100. I guess my question is has anybody here ever added one of these and how ugly is the installation? I have no problem with the mechanical stuff but I'm a bit tentative about digging into the electrical.

Thanks for any feedback!
Brad

:confused:

·
Registered
21 Posts
Sorta unrelated but, did they mind that the speedo was in mph first and kmh second? I'm dying to get reverse indiglo's but was wonder about its legality here in Canada.

Also if you do find a place to get a daytime light module I'd love to know, mine is crapping out on me, it turns my right headlight off every once in a while.

·
Registered
6,296 Posts
how strict are they about the daytime running lights? you can find them online. However, I'd like to know if they require you to run the lowbeams @ 35watts, or is the stock 55 ok. If 55 is ok, just wire the lights w/a relay w/something that's on when the car's on...kinda like wiring your radio to come on w/the ignition.
lemme know if u need more ideas.
Jay

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for replies!

As for the spedometer, as long as Km is on there it's legal. FYI, Crappy Tire has an aftermarket DRL module for $30. I'm going to get a decent tear-down manual for the car and pick that up and see what happens. Worst case scenario, I'm out $30.

I hear Chiltons makes a pretty good manual for the Altima??

Thanks!
Brad

G

·