The Nissan Club banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a kit on e-bay the other day and it arrived yesterday. It's a sensor with instructions on how to install it. It's supposed to tell my ECU that colder air is coming in advancing the timing thus more power. I asked the seller if this will damage my car and he said "NO". But I'm still skeptical. Has anyone installed this sensor?? If so, please let me know how it works or if it works at all. Mahalo!!

·
Registered
6,377 Posts
doesn't that make your car run rich?
Jae

·
Registered
165 Posts
I saw that sensor on ebay too. I was pretty skeptical too. As too whether or not it will hurt your car I'm no expert so i wouldn't know but if all it does is advance your timing it should be cool. If it really does advance the timing you should get better low end power.

·
Registered
6,377 Posts
no, that's 2 diff things they're selling on ebay. 1 advances your timing, the other fools with the air intake temp.
Jae

·
Life, Liberty, Pursuit of
1,320 Posts
advice

my advice: If you really want to use something like this, install it right after a baseline dyno. then dyno again and check to see what it did to your curves and the air fuel ratio. If you don't like what you see take it off and toss it

remember no more than 14.x:1 (lean) and I have no idea how much is too rich.

·
enlarged member
417 Posts
Snolden is right - test it out.
Even if it worked, I'd doubt the gain is significant.

I am not sure that advancing the timing is really going to do you a lot of good, without other mods like camshaft changes.

By the way, a colder intake charge would allow/benefit from more fuel, not more timing, and if the intake charge ISNT really colder, then its probably just gonna make your engine run rich, and likely not make any more power.