The Nissan Club banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to Altimas, not imports, just Nissan. I currently have a 5th gen Accord, and I have had two Civics. Honda knowledge was my thing. Anyway, I was reading my new issue of Sport Compact Car today, and they were swapping an SR20DET from a JDM Bluebird into a US market Infinity G20. The article was very interesting, however I have some questions. My wife and I own a '98 Altima GXE. We love it, and the KA24DE out torques my Accord all day long. (For right now though, the Accord is much faster :)- Sorry). My question would be this: Since the SR20DET came in the Bluebird SSS (which we all know is a JDM Altima), would you be able to swap this motor into a second gen. Altima? I would think that you could (and the SR20DE as well) since the gen 1 and gen 2 Altimas both have the KA24DE, so I would think that the motor mounts would be the same. It would be just a matter of the right wiring. Am I on the right track with this line of thinking? Please help, and thanks in advance. By the way, this is a pretty nice board you have here. :cool:

·
11,384 Posts
The mounts are in fact different, and there is a lot of work involved. Of the maybe 3500 memebers, no one has ever even tried it...too much work.

One member, Shawn, has a brother with a G20, and he did the SR20DET for his sr20, and ir worked just fine...so Shawn said he eyeballed the engine into his Altima, and it wasn't very feesable. I mean, anything can be done, but is it really worth the effort? The KA can be turbo charged, and it's a nice strong engine.

But if you want to try it, by all means, look into it. You would be held on a pedistal here if you could do it.

·
Import Tech.
1,491 Posts