The Nissan Club banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, forgive me as I’m new to this thread and community.

I was wondering if someone can offer advice/opinion.
I recently bought a ‘14 Nissan Altima and noticed when driving at night my high beams are on. However, my low beams don’t work at all (they look like they’re completely out)
I notice when I shift different light settings (ex: fog lights) it’ll just automatically put on my high beams.

Has anyone ever had an issue similiar to this? If so, what did you do to fix it?
I know it can either be: 1. Both lights are out (which I wouldn’t be too shocked since I bought it from a dealership and it looks like my car was sitting there for a while), or 2. Something with the relays/fuses?

Does anyone have any advice to help fix this? I saw a few articles and videos on how to check the relays, but they were worked on older models than my ‘14. Is it possible I can fix this myself? I really don’t want to take it to a shop due to the high cost where I’m getting estimated over $200 & my dealership playing dumb

Any help is much appreciated!

· Registered
24 Posts
Welcome to the site.
One of the more common causes of low beam headlights not working while high beams do is a faulty headlight relay. Because each low and high beam has its own relay, which is essentially an electrical switch, relays, like fuses, can fail. Try to check this out, it may be of some help to you https://www.justanswer.com/nissan/cyg2k-nissan-altima-2014-2-5-low-beams-not.html Good luck.

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome to the site.