The Nissan Club banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The discussions in this forum about gas mileage reminded me of something my Jetta mechanic--who was a great mechanis--told me about 10 years ago when I owned VWs.

He said that he always put 93 octane (94 if he could find it) in his car, not because of the increased gas mileage, but because he felt it resulted in less wear and tear on the engine. Here was his reasoning: Higher octane is achieved by using a higher percentage of "branched chain" hydrocarbons in the gas compared to "straight chain" hydrocarbons (I know this part to be true as I am a chemist). When the gas ignites, the branched chain HCs don't burn or explode as quickly as straight chain, thus the ignition of branched chain HCs is more efficient (higher mileage) and easier on the engine (less explosive = less wear and tear on the pistons).

Does this make sense to anyone else or is pure hypothetical BS?

·
Registered
11,482 Posts
Use what's recommended for your car. Since this is in the 2002 forums, I'm assuming you have a 3rd Gen with the QR25. From b15sentra.net there's been some debate on which octane. I've heard the SE-R's say one thing while the manual says another.

·
Registered
581 Posts
Higher vs Lower octane fuel

I'm not being picky, but the fuel/air mix in your combustion chamber does not explode; it burns. If it exploded, you would have the remains of a once fine engine, which is close to what happens when detonation sets in.

Bottom line is what one respondent advised. Use what the manual tells you to use. If you use 93 octane when the engine is designed to run on 87, you will increase your mechanical compression ratio since more of the unburned gases will deposit themselves on the piston tops, heads, and valve faces. This will, in turn, require you to use a higher octane fuel.

PVick
2002 Alty, Silver, 214 CID V6, Manual tranny

·
Remember Me?
1,549 Posts