The Nissan Club banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2006 Murano , I love my car but the mootor overheated when my son had it and now need to replace the motor . everywhere I have looked shows dropping motor from underneath,Ugh! I am a backyard mechanic without any way to really lift the car to pull from bottom can it be taken from the top? Help!

·
09 Altima 3.5SE 6MT Sedan
6,730 Posts
I would be super surpised if that's even possible. That is a crap ton of work with very little clearance to work with. I know that's not the answer you're looking for.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It is not , I just hate to lose the car over the motor. I can't figure out how to take out from bottom in a dirt driveway which is what I have. and up on blocks.

·
6,730 Posts
I don't even know how you'd roll a engine hoist around on a dirt driveway, I think at a minimum you'd need a concrete pad, if only for safety, if not ease of movement.

So let's circle around to why the engine needs replacing? Is it a blown head gasket, rod knock...because a head gasket leak should be possible in situ, but anything block related/lower down not so much. You'll probaby still have to rock the engine back and forth to get at stuff, but not having to drop the subframe would be a boon.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5