The Nissan Club banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
yes. read this http://theserviceadvisor.com/octane.htm

do you have a need for non-87 octane gas?
if you hear your engine ping or knock? if not, go to 87.

you would need higher octane gas IF!:
you are using forced induction.
you have high compression pistions.
different cams.
aggressive timing.

our engines are designed for 87.

you know, you can make your own octane booster.....

·
Registered
5 Posts
Has anyone noticed a difference in the 2nd gens when running 89 octane in the system? If I run 87, I get a slight pulsation through the gas pedal on the highway and slightly lower gas mileage. The dealer has checked this out, and couldn't find anything wrong. Just wondering if anyone else had seen these symptoms. I've been running 89 for six months, and none of those problems have happened in that time.

·
Girl-Moderator
1,127 Posts
I have just about every bolt on minus clutch/catback/ECU, but we started running 93 a little while after all the boltons and you could see the mileage go up. The car also used to "tick" after we turned off the motor and it just sat after driving. It doesn't do that anymore. We also put in a N.O.S. octane booster when filling up.

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
My standard response to this question whenever I see the subject brought up is to say that the only difference between gasoline with an 87 octane rating and gas with a higher rating, is that gas with a higher octane rating ignites at a higher temperature. There is no other difference.

If an Altima engine with stock internals knocks or pings using 87 rated gasoline, there’s something wrong with it that’s causing the gasoline to ignite prematurely.

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
AlienAlt said:
Personally i think the car runs a bit smoother.....i always use 93....it is cleaner too.

In the long run it can't hurt right?!?:cool: