The Nissan Club banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Idle Issues After Head Gasket Replacement

Hello everybody, Happy New Year.

Over the Christmas vacation (I'm a teacher) I replaced the head gasket on my 2004 Nissan Altima 2.5 that has ~140k miles on it. I had a very slow coolant leak, and I saw the water on top of cylinders 2 and 3. I also replaced the thermostat, water control valve, all the plugs, and the serpentine belt while I was at it.

Upon reassembly Monday, she pretty much started right up for me and sounded great. After she was running for a few minutes I noticed a very low, and at times, hesitant idle. It didn't jump up and down drastically, pretty much stayed low (600ish rpm) and seemed to almost stall out at times. I took her out for a spin and she drove great, just when I was stopped the idle was funny and the car was jumpy. When I got back to the house after about a 20 minute drive I went through all the relearn procedures. The idle issue never changed. At one point in the driveway it stalled out. After another test drive the SES light came on with a p0300 random misfire code (the same code I was throwing before the head gasket replacement.) I cleared the code Monday night and figured I'd try all the relearn procedures again Tuesday.

Tuesday morning I drove the car to work, a 30 minute, 30ish mile drive, partially on the highway at highway speeds. Everything was fine again while driving, just the idle issues when stopped at a light or whatnot. When I got to work I disconnected the battery. After work I did the release position and throttle valve relearn procedures, drove home to get it to operating temperature, and then once home did the idle relearn procedure. No change, still idling very low and hesitant and occasionally coming very close to stalling.