The Nissan Club banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
$11K til Pink Slip!
632 Posts
I'm a noob...but the honda is heavier and have less HP, yet it still beats the 2.5??? Are they underrating the HP on purpose? I say during the test, the honda's fuel tank was half full, and the Altima's tank was 20 gals full!

·
Altima Freak
811 Posts
I guess the 5 speed auto is better geared for 0-60? I see that it catches up in the 1/4 though. One category that is very important is the slalom. If you notice, the Altima is about 4 MPH faster. That's a big difference.

warhoggie said:
I'm a noob...but the honda is heavier and have less HP, yet it still beats the 2.5???

·
I have a NISMO oil cap
5,563 Posts
altypaul said:
I guess the 5 speed auto is better geared for 0-60? I see that it catches up in the 1/4 though. One category that is very important is the slalom. If you notice, the Altima is about 4 MPH faster. That's a big difference.
has to be the 5speed.... definitely geared better towards 0-60. Look at the camry's numbers. 9.5sec 0-60, almost identical power to the the accord.

·
$11K til Pink Slip!
632 Posts
altypaul said:
Or they purposely put in a 250LB driver in the Altima, and a 125LB in the Honda! :angry2:

·
$11K til Pink Slip!
632 Posts
BSU_Altima said:
Yeah, some of those numbers just don't add up.

You said it! Fuzzy math if you ask me! :bullshit:

Or Honda is slipping $ under the table to someone.

·
Registered
899 Posts
The 5 speed makes a big difference. I just bought my wife a new Honda Odyssey van (we have a 170 lb dog that requires a van). With the motor (240 hp) and tranny (5 speed) from the Acura MDX, the mags run the van at 7.9 0-60. Now, this is by far the slowest of my cars, but I didn't know I could start picking on the 4 cyl Alti's :) Watch out for the minivans, guys :)

·
Registered
137 Posts
Results:

1. Honda Accord LX
2. Nissan Altima 2.5S
3. Toyota Camry LE