The Nissan Club banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
384 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, please bear with me on this one. I did search around and will search more, but just wanted to get some idea of how hard it would be for a first timer to do some basic tune up things myself. Here are a few things I think I should be able to do.

Replace Spark Plugs

Replace Spark Plug Wires

Replace Distributor Cap and rotor

Replace fuel filter

Keep in mind I have never done these things before, but I'd like to learn how, not only for the satisfation of being able to do them myself, but to also save some money. You've gotta start somewhere. I do have a Haynes Manual to reference as well.

Are there any other basic tune up things that I'm missing? I know there are more sophisticated procedures like fuel system cleaning, transmission flushes, coolant flushes, etc. that I will leave up to a mechanic.

Thanks!

·
Registered
384 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
loserpunkx182 said:
maybe an oil change:dunno: dependin how long ago it was done....
Ya, I get the oil changes every 3,000 miles...lol

I do take it to a quick lube type of place, though. I realize this is something I could do as well, but haven't as of yet.

·
Registered
384 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
thajones said:
Air filter
Orininally posted by Altima95GXE
Replace the air filter... Try to use a K&N or a Green Filter, they are 1,000,000mile gauranteed!
I should've mentioned I've got an Injen intake, but that brings up a good point. How long should the Injen filter last (under normal conditions) before needing cleaning or replacing?

·
Registered
384 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
How hard is it to change the fuel filter?

I was just going over some of my car records and when I had the fuel filter replaced about a year ago by my mechanic, they charged about $50 dollars for it. A new fuel filter from Courtesy Nissan online is only $12.08.

Do you think I got charged that much more because of the difficulty of the install?