The Nissan Club banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I just picked up a 2015 Sentra SR last Thursday (traded a Versa) and had a bit of a run-in with the finance guy. The finance guy was pushing the maintenance plan (as they all do) and I informed him that I do my own oil changes and that I would not require the maintenance plan. He then proceeded to tell me that if I perform my own "routine maintenance" (a.k.a. oil changes) I would void the warranty on my car. I then proceeded to tell him that he is wrong, and that the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act protects me against such a situation. He then told me I was wrong.....we ended up agreeing to disagree. Although I am not an ASE certified mechanic, I am an aircraft mechanic with 22 years of experience working on heavy aircraft, so changing oil on an automobile is a piece of cake. Furthermore, it gives me the piece of mind that the job was done right, as opposed to some 20 yr old punk at the dealership forgetting to reinstall the oil cap.

Have any of you been told the same thing when purchasing your vehicles? How many of you perform your own maintenance?

For reference, here is information from the Federal Trade Commission website concerning this very topic.

·
Registered
24 Posts
It's against the law to nullify a warranty as you said, if you document the services you perform that's all it takes. Keep receipts, etc.

I have a 2013 Sentra S (to get the 6 speed manual) and love it! I also do my own oil and other maintenance.

Side note, my wife's family lives in Bonaire/Warner Robins and my brother in law works at the AFB as a sheet metal mechanic. :)

roog

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Side note, my wife's family lives in Bonaire/Warner Robins and my brother in law works at the AFB as a sheet metal mechanic. :)

roog
Small world! I am Active Duty and work on the JSTARS aircraft.