The Nissan Club banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New owner of a 2013 2.5S here as of a month ago. I'm coming from an 8th gen Civic most recently, and 7th gen Civic before that. I'm a big road tripper who does tons and tons of highway miles each year, so highway MPG is always a huge deciding factor in a vehicle for me.

Observations after a few 500+ mile highway drives in the 2.5S:

It seems to me that compared to both of the Civics I owned in the past, the MPG vs. speed curve falls off a lot faster above 65-70 mph on the Altima.

I purchased the Altima primarily because of the tantalizing EPA claim of 38 MPG highway, a remarkable improvement of 2 MPG over the Civic despite a lot more room and comfort. Now, I understand these numbers aren't perfect, and I am a somewhat aggressive driver (accelerate somewhat quickly, speed by 5-10 mph). What I've found thus far though is that the Altima EPA estimate is far higher than what I'm getting in the real world.

I've made sure to rule out common caveats:

* Tire pressures are all within +/-1.5 psi of spec (32 psi)
* I installed a brand new OEM air filter
* Wind was not significant (over 10-15 mph) on any of my long drives thus far

Based on 6-8 fillups where I'd gone 200+ mi. and calculated mpg manually at the pump, I tend to get 33-34 mpg when cruising at "lower" highway speeds of 60-70 mph, and 30-32 mpg at my typical highway speeds of 75-80 mph. The mpg reported by the dash ranges from 1.5-4.5 mpg too high -- e.g., it once reported 35.4 mpg and I measured 31.2 mpg.