The Nissan Club banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Over this past winter, I cut into a snow bank while backing out of my driveway, and put a pretty hefty crack and dent into my front bumper cover on the passenger side underneath the turn signal. I ordered a painted front bumper cover off eBay, which has been delivered, and I plan on making the swap when I have some time on vacation at the end of the month.

Does anybody know of any guides or videos on doing this, or have any tips? I have some limited experience doing this kind of work, I replaced the front bumper and fenders on a '95 Toyota Celica over a decade ago, but nothing since then. I've looked through the service manual, and saw the diagrams there, but am trying to prepare as best as I can.

As well, are there any clips or screws I should buy ahead of time to use as replacements for the old ones when I take it off?

Looking for any help anyone can provide. Thanks :)

·
09 Altima 3.5SE 6MT Sedan
6,365 Posts
It's easy to do and I assume very similar to the 4th Gen, for which you need to do the following:

Remove
- pop clips along the top of the grille under the hood
- pop clips under the bumper skin attaching it to the rad sub-frame and the engine splash shield
- 3 screws at each under each side immediately in front of the wheels
- 1 screw tucked behind the fender liner of each wheel, accessed from below, located where the plastic bumper skin meets the metal fender
- disconnect the fog light wiring if so equipped (you may need to remove the engine splash shield to get your hand in far enough to do this)

Pop the bumper skin loose at each wheel well by pushing the bumper skin toward the wheel well while pulling the edge of the skin away from the body.

Once both sides have unsnapped from the metal fender, grab the bumper skin by the vent by the license plate bracket and the top of the grill and wiggle the skin+grille loose from body.

Replacement is reverse of above.