The Nissan Club banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Banned
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Seriously, folks! I studied some aerodynamics and in order to have any effect, the wing should be a lot higher than it is on stock altima. This is the same true for stock accord and some other cars. The wind flow from the roof goes in a straigh line, so in the wing should be on it's way, while it is too low, so the flow doesnt hit it.
That's the truth.

What is the drag coeffecient for first gen Altima by the way?

Isn't it around 0,33?

·
Banned
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
No Joking! Look at the rear race cars, like F1 or Nascar, all of their wings is up in the air...
The only thing that this little wing can provice positive is a little less vacuum drag

·
_________
312 Posts
inoplanetyanin said:
No Joking! Look at the rear race cars, like F1 or Nascar, all of their wings is up in the air...
The only thing that this little wing can provice positive is a little less vacuum drag
No joking! Think before you say(brain is a tool not an accessory)

·
Registered
658 Posts
actually it does do something. wings are there to prevent air from swirling as it goes down the back windshield which reduces lift. since air has to go over the back of the car at a higher spot, air pressure doesnt make such a drastic change. thats why crx's have such low lift. by the time the air drops off, its no where near the car so it doesnt affect it. btw, drag coefficient and lift are no where near being related (maybe slightly).

·
Dirt Looks good Sideways
443 Posts
damn i thought the spoiler was there to hold me 3rd brake light..
BUT if poison is right,,the name S P O I L E R would make sense

·
dismember
11,347 Posts
inoplanetyanin said:
The wind flow from the roof goes in a straigh line, so in the wing should be on it's way, while it is too low, so the flow doesnt hit it.
That's the truth.

What is the drag coeffecient for first gen Altima by the way?

Isn't it around 0,33?