The Nissan Club banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Rockin the Kasbah
4,106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it true that the stock throttle body off of a automatic first gen altima is 60 mm, compared to the 55 mm of the manual???

If this is true, could i just bolt it on (after matching the bore to the intake opening)???

Also: Would takign one from a Maxima bolt on (and or be better??)

Sorry if it's a newby question, I'm still kinda new to the Nissan waters!

·
Hello my name is Distance
6,028 Posts
yes you can just bolt it on. But i dont think the maxima one would fit, diferent engine.

·
Rockin the Kasbah
4,106 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
2nd q: would it be worth my time to change the TB? Would the gain's be worthwhile?

Would any other motor (besides the Ka24de) have a TB that would be bigger and or fit?

·
Erect Member
18,130 Posts
ok, the maxima one wont fit, its a different style, has two ports to it. the one from the autotragic will bolt right on. match porting is not necessary, the throttle body side of the intake manifold is the same size as the bigger throttle body, believe me, i checked. i did mine cuz i had a couple rough spots that needed attention. i noticed instantly better throttle response and noise. its slightly louder than the 55. also, i had a flat spot from the wai i used to have and the bigger throttle body cured it. for the price i paid, 50 bucks, why not? it will ultimately add to your performance as a whole when you decide to go with i/h/e. go for it, nothing ventured, nothing gained.

·
Rockin the Kasbah
4,106 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks alot for your help you guys!

Another q: how long would you estimate this to take? (for a mechanically inclined person) it looks like it would only involve removing some screws, and a plug...(I've not really looked to much into it, we've busy putting a swapping a 351 into a truck that came with a 302)

·
Erect Member
18,130 Posts