The Nissan Club banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
SSi Crew Member
598 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Situation: tore a tooth off my differential in the tranny.
Attempt at fixing: bought a junkyard tranny from Massilon Auto Salvage in Massilon, Ohio. When I called I asked if they had any limited slip 5 speed transmission for a 1995 Altima. They said yes. I said great. How many miles? 85k ok, How much? 600. Do you have the axles for it? Yes. Are they ABS axles? No. Good I want them too. Warranty? 90 days. Had the transmission installed. Picked up the car today.

!!!PROBLEM!!!
Synchros are shot, I can't shift any normal speed from 3rd to 4th w/o a grind. Can't downshift from 5th to third even rev matched unless I double clutch w/o a grind. 4th to third grinds sometimes too. It's not my driving style I know how to drive a stick I've been driving it for 3 years now I race and I've never had these problems. Other problem. NEW NOISE!!! It's clutch chatter. I hear a sound like metal sliding over metal when the clutch pedal is out all the way (clutch engaged) even at idle. It is synchronized with RPM, and does go away when the clutch pedal is pushed to the floor (clutch diss-engaged). ANOTHER NOISE!!! Some kind of rattle is coming through my shifter itself. Also my clutch doesn't seem to engage where it used to nor does it seem to grab as hard as it used to. Fluid levels are fine. I had an ACT S/S clutch in it that was beautiful. I KNOW the difference and SOMETHING is ****ed up there.

Obviously this tranny is S H_I T! But the clutch chatter still shouldn't be there. I'm afraid the bastards at my dealership swapped (for whatever reason) the clutch from the junkyard tranny into my car. Yes that sounds proposterous. The clutch assembly is not persay attached to the transmission housing. It does not need to be touched in swapping trannys. I KNOW! SO WHY IS THERE A PROBLEM HERE?!