The Nissan Club banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some help here, its a dumb issue but its driving me crazy.

Yesterday I took off my throttle body, ported it and cleaned it. (Ive been porting + polishing for over 6 years anything from dirt bike heads to intake manifolds to cyl. heads etc. Basically Im just trying to say I didnt do anything dumb here with the porting ie. port where the butterfly sits.)

Anyways now I have the high idle code. Ive done the relearn procedure about 7 times and it just wont keep it. I'll clear the codes with a scanner and do the relearn. At the end of the relearn when you have to start the car and let it idle, it idles fine, right about at 750 rpm. But once I go to drive the car again, the idle is high again (at about 1200 rpm) and it will throw the SES light usually after I drive it once more.

Im not sure what else I can do here? Im doing the relearn to a t. And it does work. But only for the 1st time the car is started.

You guys think that I may have messed up the electronics in the TB when I cleaned it? can the TB be damaged by holding the plate open manually? Or am I missing something here like another procedure?

Any input will help, thanks guys!

·
Registered
755 Posts
I need some help here, its a dumb issue but its driving me crazy.

Yesterday I took off my throttle body, ported it and cleaned it. (Ive been porting + polishing for over 6 years anything from dirt bike heads to intake manifolds to cyl. heads etc. Basically Im just trying to say I didnt do anything dumb here with the porting ie. port where the butterfly sits.)