The Nissan Club banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's pics of the Zcar's engine in and out of the car. I hylighted a couple things I found noteworthy. Now I'm no expert, but this looks like a true dual exhaust, and a factory cold air intake... run strait to the front of the car. The guys at Stillen said they thought the intake/exhaust combo would be the main difference between the Z and Altima, and of course the ECU... So perhaps when the Z comes out in August, we will be able to upgrade a few things with factory parts, and get the 280 HP that the Z car boasts... it is the same engine after all.

·
yeah ?
168 Posts
Same engine, def different compression ratio, and bigger everything. Our cars have the ability to run the same hp/torque as the 350z, we just need to swap or upgrade a few of our parts.

·
Registered
581 Posts
There could be a whole host of things different about these two engines. If you have two engines of the same basic design (same long block, same basic heads, etc.) but they produce different horsepower and torque figures, they are said to be in "different states of tune". The word "tune" here has nothing to do with spark plugs or such. It refers to the internal and external components which make "same" engines different.

With the Z engine, you could have larger intake and exhaust valves, higher mechanical compression, different shaped piston domes, ported and polished intake and exhaust ports, higher lift and longer duration cams, different exhaust headers and head pipes, and so on. These differences could easily account for large variations in power output.

So you see, the "same" appearing engines could be radically different internally which means that borrowing some external components from the Z is not necessarily going to give the Altima engine the same performance as the Z engine. In fact, it could hurt its performance because component compatibility could be adversely affected.

PVick